Table of Contents

Contact Us

Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology
The Robert H. Smith Faculty of Agriculture, Food & Environment
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Herzl 229
Rehovot 7610001 

Tel: 08-9489219
Fax: 08-9466794

Awards and Appointments

Awards and Special Appointments (see also full CV):

1977-1979 President, The Israeli Phytopathological Society.

1981-1986 Appointed by the President of Israel to the Council of Higher Education.

1990 The incumbent Buck Family Chair in Plant Pathology and Microbiology.

1991 Fellow of the American Phytopathological Society.

1991 Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Agricultural Sciences.

1992 Presented a special medal by the Portuguese Society of Plant Protection.

1994 The M. Millikan Prize, a special award of distinction in teaching (The Hebrew University).

1994 The Rothschild Prize in Agriculture, bestowed upon him by the Speaker of the Kenneseth (Israeli Parliament).

1997 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

2000 Presented a medal by the Rector of the University of Torino.

2003 The Jakob Eriksson Prize in Plant Pathology, 
awarded jointly by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the International Society of Plant Pathology.

2003-8 Vice President, the 9th International Congress of Plant Pathology (Torino).

2004 Awarded the Award of Distinction by the International Society of Plant Protection (at Beijing).

2004 Presented a special medal at the International Congress of Soil Disinfestation (Corfu, Greece).

2004 Honorary President, The Israeli Phytopathological Society

2008 Presented a special award by the Crop Council, bestowed upon by the Minister of Agriculture, for Katan's contributions to Plant Pathology

2008 The first soil solarization article in Phytopathology (1976) by Katan et al, was included in the timeline of the Centurial celebration of the American Phytopathological Society. 
The timeline indicated major developments in Phytopathology in the last 100 years.

2008 Vice-President of the 9th International Congress of Plant Pathology, Torino, Italy.

2009 Special Award by "Alliance International" recognizing the contribution to agriculture in Israel and the world over.

2013 Fellow of the International Society of Plant Pathology.

2014 Israel Prize in Agriculture and Environment Research (bestowed upon by the President of Israel).